Varsity Boys Tennis

CMA Tennis has competed in the IHSAA for over 40 years and has captured 25 Sectional championships, 10 Regional titles, six Semi-state championships, and appeared in six State Finals, with its highest finish coming in 2007 when it lost in the final match.

For a look at season statistics, check out Culver Academies Boys Tennis on MaxPreps.com. Also follow us on twitter, @CulverTennis.


The program is firmly aligned with Culver’s mission and objectives, and we strive to emulate the Spirit of Culver: “The hope to win, the zeal to dare; contempt for what is base and mean; pride in achievement that is fair, and high regard for what is clean.” This is achieved primarily through consistency in the coaching ranks, with just two head coaches overseeing the program since 1969. Current head coach Alan Loehr is USPTA-certified and is in his 30th year with the program. With a no-cut program, the 10:1 student to coach ratio is designed not only to develop players to compete at the highest level of state and USTA tournament-level competition, but also to nurture a lifelong appreciation for the game among those whose first introduction to tennis occurs at Culver.


Supporting the program philosophy is the most comprehensive high school facility in the state of Indiana. Opened in 2007, the Gable Tennis Complex features 15 outdoor and five indoor courts. The five feature outdoor courts are lit, and scoring is monitored by electric Daktronic scoreboards. The outdoor and indoor complexes have each been awarded the USTA Outstanding Educational Tennis Facility in 2012 and 2014, respectively.  The site is host to one of 64 IHSAA Sectionals, 16 Regionals, and one of only four sites for Semi-State competitions. 


CMA Tennis became a varsity sport in 1924. Its early years were highlighted with the presence of the Boys Junior National Tournament, which Culver hosted from 1928 to 1942. In 1943, by agreement with the USLTA and with World War II priorities consuming Culver, the tournament was moved to Kalamazoo, Michigan, where it has continued as one of the premier showcases for schoolboy stars in America. Culver hosted the likes of Bobby Riggs, Don Budge, Ellsworth Vines, Jack Kramer, Budge Patty, and Ted Schroeder, while Bill Tilden performed exhibitions on our lakeside clay courts in the latter years of his playing career.

Jim Bishop, a history instructor and Rhodes Scholar, also put Culver on the map by becoming the first person from “west of the Potomac” elected to chair the USLTA, a position he held from 1953-1955. Prior to that role, he helped shape the United States Davis Cup teams that dominated that competition throughout the 1940s. 


Boys Varsity Tennis
JV/Varsity, Warsaw Community High School
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
Munster/Penn/West Lafayette (Varsity), West Lafayette Jr/Sr HS, Munster High School, Penn High School
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
JV/Varsity, Peru High School/Junior High
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
Lafayette Jeff Varsity Tourney, Lafayette Jefferson HS
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
Plymouth JV Tourney, Plymouth High School
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
JV/Varsity, South Bend St. Joseph HS
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
Canterbury Varsity Tourney, Canterbury School
Subscribe to Alerts
Boys Varsity Tennis
JV/Varsity, Mishawaka Marian High School
Subscribe to Alerts


First Name Last Name Grade Hometown
Nicholas Beeson 9 Culver, IN
Henry Bilicic 11 Chicago, IL
George Boardman 9 LaPorte, IN
Christopher Bower 10 Cheboygan, MI
Jilei Bu 10 Zhengzhou, China
Yu-Chang Chang 10 Taipei, Taiwan
Jordan Craig 11 Crystyal Lake, IL
Constantine Dames 10 Tucson, AZ
Arthur Davidson 9 Lake Forest, IL
Keller Fu 9 Shanghai, China
Peter Gallagher 11 Northfield, IL
James He 10 Fremont, CA
Wesley Henthorn 9 Indianapolis, IN
Ethan Holder 9 Indianapolis, IN
Yueran Hong 10 Shenzhen, China
Zhaoqi Huang 11 Nantong Jiangsu, China
Yuzhi Jiang 10 Changzhou, China
Woods Kemmler 9 Celina, OH
Lance Kilbourne 10 Shreve, OH
Tanner Koch 12 Canal Fulton, OH
Connor Lee 12 Granger, IN
Koby Leeman 9 Napa, CA
Joshua Lerman 10 South Bend, IN
William LeVan 10 Newton, KS
Yuqi Lin 9 Hangzhou, China
Nathan Lukac 10 LaPorte, IN
Youlin Luo 9 Shanghai, China
Diego Peraza 10 Hermosillo, Mexico
Jose Santiago Peraza 12 Hermosillo, Mexico
Sebastian Rodriguez 11 The Woodlands, TX
Hayden Schott 12 Newport Beach, CA
Yu-Hsiang Shaw 10 Taipei, Taiwan
Jaden Slater 11 New York, NY
Ian Smith 12 Bloomington, IN
David Snyder 11 Clarksville, TN
Himanshu Umare 12 Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
John Vermeulen 11 Chicago, IL
Shamus Walsh 12 Portsmouth, NH
Jingxing Wang 11 Hangzhou, China
Ziriu Wang 10 Hangzhou, China
Nikolas Warnholtz Deck 10 Lerma, Mexico
Patrick Wilson 12 Key Biscayne, FL
Paul Wilson 9 Key Biscayne, FL
Haiqian Xiao 9 Shanghai, China
Binhong Xie 10 Chengdu, China
Alan Yang 10 Shanghai, China
Guangtaiyu Yang 10 Shanghai, China
Xucong Zhu 10 Ningbo, China

Managers: Sohpia Arnold, Margaret Davidson, Celia Listenberger, Madeline Rahe, Zhenming Shi, Sophia Sorg, & Yilin Wu

Game Commentary

Coaching Staff

Alan Loehr
Head Coach

John Sherck
JV Head Coach

Francois Medard
Assistant Coach

Hunter Wright
Assistant Coach