CMA Notable Alumni

A total of 22 former Culver players have been drafted by NHL teams and seven former players played or are currently playing in the NHL, including:

Gary Suter CMA '82 holding the Calder Trophy he received as NHL Rookie of the Year for the 1985-86 season playing with the Calgary Flames. A five-time All-Star, played 16 seasons in the NHL and won a Stanley Cup with the Calgary Flames

Aris Brimanis in action during the 2000-01 season with the New York Islanders. He also has spent time in the Anaheim, Philadelphia and St. Louis organizations.

Kevin Dean was the second Culver graduate (Suter being the first) to get his name on the Stanley Cup when New Jersey won in 1995. Dean also played for the Chicago Blackhawks

Barry Richter was the first Culver player to play in the Olympics and has since played for the New York Rangers, Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens

Mike Farrell in pre-season action with the Washington Capitals. He was acquired by the Nashville Predators in the summer of 2003.

John-Michael Liles was drafted by Colorado in 2000, was a Hobey Baker finalist in 2003 and made the Avalanche roster for the  start of the 2003-04 season. He was named to the NHL's All-Rookie Team in 2004.

Ryan Suter was the first former Culver player to be drafted in the first round of the NHL Draft when the Nashville Predators selected him seventh overall in 2003. He became the seventh former Culver player to play in the National Hockey League in 2005.

Former Culver players John-Michael Liles and Ryan Suter were teammates on Team USA for the 2005 World Championship Tournament in Austria.

Evan and Kenneth Kearns were teammates at Colby College

Dan Krenn ’04 played for perennial NCAA Division III power Norwich

Corey Rhodes ’91 was on the cover of the Princeton hockey program

John-Michael Liles was an All-American at Michigan State.

Tom Zabkowicz ’03 skates for Maine

Nathan Mayfield and Jason Choi skated at West Point

Brian Sipotz played at Miami of Ohio and was a fourth-round draft pick of the Atlanta Thrashers in the 2001 draft.

Evgeny Saidachev ’03 won three titles as a member of the eight-time NCAA Division III national champion Middlebury Panthers

R.J. Enga ’91 has played professionally in Europe and North America since graduating from Colorado College.

Ryan Harris ’95 was a member of New Hampshire’s national runner-up team in 1999.

Skeeter Moore played on a line with Brett Hull at Minnesota-Duluth and went on to a successful professional career in the Swedish Elite League.

Teammates Jamie Spencer and Kirk Daubenspeck after a game in Madison

Former Culver teammates Nick Lamia, Mike Payne and Buff Shuttleworth made their way to Colby College after graduation.

As of fall 2008, 155 former Culver players have earned varsity letters or are presently playing in their initial season at more than 70 NCAA Division I, II and III schools and ACHA Division I schools listed below. Culver hockey alumni have won national titles at the NCAA Division I, NCAA Division III and ACHA Division I levels. Former players are encouraged to contact any member of the coaching staff or the alumni office with corrections or inadvertent omissions from the list below. An * marked next to a particular person's name designates that he was an NHL draft pick.


Russ Vogel

American International College

Mike Sowa, Derek Powell

Alabama – Huntsville 

Brian Butcher
Jim Popa

University of Arizona

Tom Thompson

Arizona State University

Greg Muir

Bemidji State 

Graham McManamin

Bentley College

Tyler Quartuccio

Bethel College

Matt Chapman

Boston College

Scott Zygulski*

Boston University

Victor Saponari, Vinny Saponari

Bowling Green

Aris Brimanis*, Aaron Ellis*, Matt Eldred, Jason Helbing


John Bolton


Nick Lamia, Paul Shuttleworth, Mike Payne, Jason Weigel, Evan Kearns, Kenneth Kearns


Pat Farrell


Steve Nelson

Connecticut College

Mike Burkons, Zach Eubank, Kip Theno

Colorado College

R.J. Enga*, Paul Badalich


Aaron Chockla

Denver University

Nate Dewhurst

Ferris State

Casey Harris, Aaron Schmit

Fitchburg State 

Aaron Abitz


Mike Liberatore, Marty Diamond

Hamilton College

Tim Hannen, Bob Sacco, David Racine

Hobart College

Jeremy Church

Holy Cross

Mark Pannitto, Nick Genovese, Derek Gittus

University of Illinois

Pat Olson

Johnson and Wales

Zach Hamilton

Lake Forest

Mark Sherrod, Bryan LaFevor, Bobby Chappuis, Tom Dutton, Matt Shoepflin


Tom Zabkowicz, David deKastrozza


Ron Guzior


Jeremy Dehner, Bob Robbins

Merrimack College 

Ryan Guzior

Miami of Ohio

Todd Channell*, Tom Holdeman*, Steve Rohr*, Brian Sipotz*, Matt Cady, Whit Whitacre, Taylor Hustead


Chris Fragner

Michigan State

John-Michael Liles*

Middlebury College

Evgeny Saidashev, Aaron Copeland, Justin Gaines, Michael Krestchmer

Milwaukee School of Engineering

Joe Conners, Andrew Carlson

Minnesota – Duluth

Skeeter Moore

New England College

Jim Ryan

University of New Hampshire

Kevin Dean*, Ryan Harris, Mark McGinn, Jeff Lenz


Joe Nangle


Justin Kearns, Jon Koop, Randy Guzior

Notre Dame

Jeff Badalich, Jeff Henderson, Tom Smith


Hal Keegan, Dan Krenn

Ohio State University

Brian Kaselak

Ohio University

Greg Cherne, Greg Hemsoth, Dennis Reed, Jeremy Church, Steve Primiano


Jim Freeburg, Pat Duggan

Penn State

Paul Shuttleworth, Geoff Martha


Mike Thomas


Mike Farrell*, Russ Guzior*, David Ruhly*, Mike Lucci


Andy Cesarski*, Corey Rhodes, Michael Sdao, Will MacDonald


Nathan Tutt


Greg Eisensmith


Eric Perardi

Salve Regina University

Marc Copeland, Kyle Ratkey


Lorn Anderson, Jeremy Ernst, Jonathan Watanabe

St. Cloud State University

Sam Zabkowicz

St. John’s University

Jason Weigel

St. Lawrence

Jim Giacin*

St. Louis University

Erik Pearson, James Snyder

St. Mary’s

Steve Hubner 

St. Michael’s

Joe Caligiuri, Ryan Anderson

St. Norbert

Dan Hodgman

St. Olaf

Carson Womack


Jim Schacht, Mike Elwood


Ross Gimbel


Mike Flanagan, Scott Seney

U.S. Air Force Academy

Jeff Seminaro, John Sullivan, Andrew Ramsey, Josh Priewe

U.S. Military Academy

Jason Choi, Paul Lentini, Brady Dolim, Nate Mayfield

U.S. Naval Academy

Jeff Clark, Joe Liles, Andrew Stoner, Keegan Kinkade, Eric Smitley


Trent Flory


Gary Lisa, Ryan Miller


Bryce Prosser, Mike Miller

Western Michigan

Bob Worden


Mike Payne


Gary Suter*, Ryan Suter*, Barry Richter*, Kirk Daubenspeck *, Blake Geoffrion*, Jamie Spencer, Jason Helbing, Matt Murray, Jeff Slinde, Shane Connelly

Wisconsin – Eau Claire

Matt Bentley

Wisconsin – River Falls

Joe Tiberio

Wisconsin – Stevens Point

Justin Zimmerman, Craig Dakins


Rich Holdeman