Skip To Main Content

Find It Fast

Culver honors 2022 graduates

Jan Garrison

Names Big Six


June 10, 2022

The most prestigious of student awards were presented at Commencement Convocation to members of the Class of 2022 Saturday. The top six student award winners are nominated and selected by a vote of the faculty staff. The academic/athletic awards are selected by the coaching staffs from among the 2022 members of the Cum Laude Society.

The McDonald Award was presented to Enzo Costanza (Ogden Dunes, Indiana). The award, first given to Joshua Logan ’27, Pulitzer Prize winning Broadway playwright and director, is given to the cadet who - by his individual work, example and inspiration - has contributed materially to the betterment of cultural life at Culver. Established in 1927 by Edwin C. McDonald, Class of 1915.

The Arthur G. Hughes Award was presented to Xinran (Olivia) Ma (Shanghai). The award, honoring Culver’s first chair of Fine Arts, is presented to that graduating senior girl who has revealed the most exceptional concern for cultural life at the Academies. Established in 1974 by the graduates of CGA.

The Van Zandt Key was presented to Samuel Tullis (South Bend, Indiana). The key is presented to the cadet who, by his effort and example, has increased an awareness among the Corps of Cadets of the importance of moral and spiritual values. Established in 1954 by Richard R. Van Zandt, Class of 1928.

The Mary Frances England Humanitarian Award was presented to Brianna Small (Culver). The award, named for the founding director of Culver Girls Academy, is presented annually to the senior girl who, by her acts, has revealed an exemplary concern for others. Established in 1973 by the Culver Parents Association.

Matthew Derrick (Champaign, Illinois) received The Chambers Award, which is given in memory of Cal C. Chambers, Class of 1908. The award recognizes that first-classman who has distinguished himself through a combination of excellence in scholarship and athletics. Established in 1915.

The Jane Metcalfe Culver Bowl was presented to Sofia Dolan (San Miguel de Allende, Mexico). The Award is presented to the graduating senior of Culver Girls Academy who has distinguished herself in scholastic and athletic achievements. Established in 1988.

The YMCA Cup was presented to Mitchell Schott (Newport Beach, California). The Cup is presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the faculty and staff, best exemplifies the ideals of Culver. Established in 1915.

The Superintendent’s Bowl was presented to Maya Jyothinagaram (Forsyth, Illinois). The Bowl is presented to a graduating senior of Culver Girls Academy for leadership, example, influence, and total record of achievement. The award was established in 1972 by a former cadet.

Three students were recognized as the valedictorians of the Class of 2022 and recipients of the Jonas Weil Award. Katharine Beeson (South Bend, Indiana), Sophie Nash (Columbus, Indiana), and Andrew Perun (Bensenville, Illinois) maintained a 4.0 grade point average for all four years. Established by Jonas Weil ’54, the Weil Award provides a monetary award to the valedictorian and salutatorian. Leshan (Stephen) Yang (Changning, China) was named the salutatorian.

Perun also received The Scholarship Medal, which was established in 1946. The award is presented to the cadet with the highest cumulative grade point average during the second- and first-class years at Culver.

The Alfred J. Donnelly Scholastic Award was shared by Beeson and Nash. The award is given in memory of Alfred J. Donnelly, Culver’s long esteemed teacher, counselor and dean. It recognizes the graduating senior in CGA who has attained the highest academic average during her junior and senior year. The award was established in 1979.

The Mark Todd Berger ’88 Scholarship was presented to Owen Hart ’23 (Lafayette, Indiana). The merit award goes to a rising first classman who best exemplifies Berger’s qualities of courage, concern, pleasant nature and positive outlook. The scholarship was established by Berger’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Berger, and his brother, David Berger ’83, following his death in April of his senior year.

Samantha Jorgensen (Dyer, Indiana) received the Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year award, which is presented by the CGA Class of 1972 to the senior who is the best all-around athlete in Culver Girls Academy. Schott also received the Russ and Myra Oliver Best All-Around Athlete award, which is presented to the CMA first classman who best represents the ideals of Russ and Myra Oliver.

Dorm/Unit Awards

Harbor Dorm was The Benson Bowl for Academic Achievement with an overall grade point average of 3.7459. The award, established by a former Culver cadet, is dedicated to the memory of Dean Ernest B. Benson and is awarded to the CGA dormitory having the highest academic achievement for the year.

Company C won The Silver Bowl with an overall GPA of 3.7158. Given by E.R. Culver III, Class of 1918, to the CMA organization having the highest academic achievement for the year.

Honors and Concentrations

Ninety students received diplomas indicating they successfully completed the requirements for Concentrations or Honors in a discipline.

Students graduating with a Concentration in a subject will completed a series of prerequisite courses, including special seminars focusing intensively on their areas of interest.

Those students graduating with Honors will have produced a body of work judged to be of high merit by the corresponding subject-area faculty committee.

More Recent News