Skip To Main Content

Find It Fast

Culver students receive major scholarships

Jan Garrison

Beeson receives Cooke Scholarship


June 14, 2022

While other high school seniors were sweating out the details about where they will go to college and how to pay for it, Culver Girls Academy’s Katherine Beeson (above) was able to sit back and relax this spring.

That’s because Beeson turned a little insider’s knowledge into the prestigious Cooke College Scholarship. She is one of only 149 graduating seniors across the country to receive up to $55,000 per year over her undergraduate career.

The scholarship is offered by the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation. If that name is familiar, it is because Cooke was the founder of the now Washington Commanders NFL team.  At one time, he also owned the Los Angeles Lakers and L.A. Kings. The foundation was established after his death. A philanthropist and devotee of learning and the arts, he left the bulk of his estate to the foundation.

The South Bend, Indiana, senior will be attending the University of Pennsylvania in the fall. She applied for an early decision and has known for a few months she would be heading to Philadelphia.

“It’s been nice,” she admitted. “I haven’t had to wait all these months.”

How Beeson learned about the scholarship is a case study in Culver connections. As a seventh grader, she learned about the Cooke Young Scholars program, the selective pre-college scholarship for high-performing students with a financial need, from an older CGA student. She applied and was accepted.

Along with the financial assistance, the Young Scholars program includes comprehensive academic and college advising, summer programs, and internships, she explained. The Young Scholars are also able to apply early for the Cooke College Scholarship program before the process is opened to outside students.  Beeson was one of 49 Young Scholars to receive an early scholarship in February.

She is one of just two students from Indiana to receive a Cooke College Scholarship. She is also one of three valedictorians for 2022, joining Andrew Perun (Bensenville, Illinois) and Sophie Nash (Columbus, Indiana) in maintaining a 4.0 grade point average for all four years.


Cellestine Harig coming through the Graduation Arch.


Harig receives Reagan Scholarship

Cellestine Harig ’22 (Deerfield, Illinois) has received the GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship. The scholarship provides $10,000 per year for up to four years. The awards are for undergraduate study and may be used for education-related expenses, including tuition, fees, books, supplies, room, and board. In addition, Scholars are invited to participate in a special awards program and receive ongoing leadership-development support.

The $40,000 scholarship rewards college-bound students who demonstrate exemplary leadership, drive, integrity, and citizenship with financial assistance to pursue higher education. Since 2011, the GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program has committed $7.88 million in scholarships to 195 diverse student leaders nationwide.

Recipients represent 41 states and 111 undergraduate campuses. Reagan alumni scholars are leading and serving throughout the world, attending graduate school, and working in careers ranging from medicine, law, education, business, nonprofits, and more.


Col. Mike Squires presents Sam Tullus with the Van Zandt Key.


IHSAA honors Tullis

Sam Tullis ’22 (South Bend, Indiana) received two major scholarships. The second-make regimental commander was one of 12 Indiana High School Athletic Association athletes to be honored with the 2022 IHSAA/C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship. To reward the efforts of Indiana’s complete student-athletes, Forté Sports Medicine, Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, Indianapolis Colts, Indiana Fever, Indiana Pacers, Sport Graphics, Inc., and Franciscan Health Systems have all partnered with the IHSAA and the IHSAA Foundation to sponsor the program.

These well-rounded, positive role models have demonstrated excellence in academics, school and community involvement, character, sportsmanship, and citizenship. Two females and two males from the three IHSAA districts will each receive a $2,500 scholarship for their prep accomplishments and be recognized at this year’s Thomas A. Brady Sports Achievement Awards Dinner established by Forté Sports Medicine, on June 2, 2022.

Tullis also received one of two leadership scholarships from the Association of Military Colleges and Schools of the United States. The $1,000 scholarship is awarded to current cadets, two at the college level and two at the prep school level.

Tullis earned 12 varsity letters during his athletic career, lettering in cross country, swimming and track and field all four years.


Ally Barath and Kevin Zhu are Culver's two Merit Scholars for 2022.


Two receive National Merit Scholarships

Two Culver Academies students also received $2,500 National Merit Scholarships. Alexandria Barath ’22 (Munster, Indiana) and Keven Zhu ’22 (Chesterfield, Missouri) were two of the 7,500 students to receive the honor. They were selected from a pool of 15,000 semifinalists.

Winners are judged on their combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Scholars are selected by a committee of college admission officers and high school counselors.

Corporations and company foundations sponsor awards through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Barath’s scholarship is sponsored by the State Farm Companies Foundation and Zhu’s is sponsored by Pfizer, Incorporated.

Subscribe to our Newsletter


The Culver Cannon Newsletter is sent out weekly on Fridays.

More Recent News